Putting on your big girl pants with Grab Green 3in1… A Review!

They say that Patience is a virtue…
I’d say it’s more aptly a side effect of being an adult, like knowing you can’t live on just candy & breakfast cereal (even though as a seven-year-old you probably vowed it).
As an adult (Okay as a “competent adult”) you can’t just drop to the ground, turning all your bones to an unidentified form of heavy jelly that another human being has to struggle to pick up, You also can’t hold your breath because things don’t go your way, & You most certainly cannot throw an almighty tantrum in public, & still expect to be taken seriously.
The fact is sometimes you have to tell yourself “Suck it up Buttercup” because you’ve got to make it through the day!
We all have day’s where you just don’t have the energy or want to ‘Adult’, & that’s okay. It can be hard at times. Being a spouse isn’t always sunshine & lollipops, & being a parent isn’t always easy, or as ‘easy’ as other people may make it look (Little-known fact: Those people who make it look easy, are struggling too).

Having little things that make your day easier, or give you a moment to take a deep breath & just feel a happy spark inside can make the difference between quitting the adult world, making a fort out of bedsheets & not letting your spouse or children in (mostly because of the “No Cooties” rule, but also because in that moment we love them, but we may not particularly like them) & accepting that we don’t have to be perfect at this Adult thing, & acknowledging that YOU’RE OKAY JUST AS YOU ARE!!!

When my kids were younger my escape was my linen cupboard.
It was my Narnia, I opened the cupboard door & everything inside was how I wanted life to be… Organized!
I had learned the trick from my Mom to slip unwrapped cakes of soap amongst the linen so that it smelled clean & that was my choice of drug.
I found it comforting.
If I was having a particularly stressful day of trips to the emergency ward because someone decided to jump off the sofa & face plant into the coffee table, another one proudly shown me she had written her name for the very first time (only it was on wall in sharpie), & the freezer had at some point stopped working & now the dinner menu consisted of partially melted ice cream, thawed fish sticks, pizzas, & a Tupperware container of some unlabeled leftovers that you asked your spouse to label weeks before while you were busy refereeing a sibling brawl in front of the television.
My escape was when I carried a sacrificial offering of my folded laundry (which had probably sat in the dryer, or on the sofa for far longer than I cared to admit), & I added it to my Linen cupboard.
Fluffy towels folded perfectly, & stacked to look like they do in an upmarket store. I’d stand in the doorway & take a long deep breath… It was organized, clean, sheer perfection compared to the chaos in the rest of my home.
Of course, my beloved family thought I was nuts, but that was okay, it’s my piece of comfort.

Life’s stresses have changed for me now.
My husband knows where his socks are so I won’t have to yell from the shower that they’re in the same place they always are.
My children no longer launch themselves off furniture or draw on the walls.
I can even use the bathroom in absolute privacy.
And if our freezer stops working, then we’ll just have friends over & dine on whatever the heck there is, & worry about restocking the freezer the following day.

This is the bonus side to being a military family. We’ve got each other’s backs. I have no qualms that if that happened, our friends coming to dine with us on a feast made of whatever defrosted in the great freezer breakage of 2017, would help in any way needed. And we’d do the same for them!

Now it’s not to say life doesn’t have stress anymore, it’s just that these days the things that worry me, or keep me awake at nights are different. Being an army wife, & a mother to young adults carries a whole different set of concerns.

So parenthood & marriage have well & truly been infected by a good dose of patience. I’m more accepting of what I can’t change, & I don’t let the little things bother me as much.
I save the fort making for the overwhelming bigger things that bring sadness & worry.
And I have good chocolate biscuits, a bottle of wine on hand, & there’s enough room in that fort for my husband, kids & close friends!

Plus I still have my linen cupboard Narnia, it’s just now that’s changed too.
Instead of the commercialized “Clean linen” smell that offered me comfort & a boatload of carcinogenic chemicals. It really is all clean “chemical free” linen these days, not just made to smell like it.
When I take a deep breath of it I’m not inhaling any nasty chemicals with more than six syllables, & the need for a degree from NASA to pronounce the ingredients. It’s nice to know that’s one less thing I need to worry about…

For the most part, we don’t use scented laundry products so when we do, we really notice….
I’ve been using the object of today’s review on all the bedding, towels, & clothes for my teenage daughter. I want to note Grab Green does not test on animals, but I apparently test on my family!

Grab Green’s 3in1 Laundry Detergent Pods!
FullSizeRender (6)
And just like our teenage daughter – great things come in a small package here!

The three in the 3in1:
* Detergent
* Stain remover
* Brightener

It achieves all three!
* It cleans well in all temperatures. We only do cold washes for our laundry, & we have hard water – so our expectations are pretty high. CHECK!
* Our daughter’s indulgence to fight stress is a bath using natural bath bombs that turn her water the colors that would prevent most people from entering. Think opaque black, purples, greens, red, add plants leaves, glitter & you get the idea. This on white fluffy towels can be a little messy. Stain removing – CHECK!
* As for brightening – her bed sheets, white comforter & colored clothing are all brightly the colors they should be. CHECK!

The scent currently in use is Lavender with Vanilla.
This was a hard sell. My daughter loves Lavender but despises most vanilla scents (due to the overuse of fake vanilla smells in so many overly scented products).
Keep in mind that the pods are concentrated laundry detergent, so in the package, they smell pretty strong.

I use 1-2 pods (depending on the size of the load).
The pods break down fairly quick, & by the end of the cycle, there is just a mild lavender scent with just a hint of vanilla to it. Then by the time, it’s been through the dryer there is just a warm inviting scent remaining.
I always test laundry pods before I use them in my washing machine.
I fill a bowl with cold water, drop in a pod & give it a stir with a spoon.
If it doesn’t break down easily, then I probably won’t use it.
The grab green pod broke down in less than a minute, & didn’t actually require too much agitation to get it to mix with the water.

Grab Green lists their ingredients on the back with a vow of True Transparency, so they list what is in it, & why.
You can also head to their website for a deeper explanation.
http://www.grabgreenhome.com/3-in-1-lavender-with-vanilla-laundry-detergent#tab-ingredients

It comes in 3 different fragrances, & a fragrance free version.
It also comes in 3 different size packs:
24 pods for $8 (.33 cents per 1 pod load)
60 pods for $18.50 (.31 cents per load)
132 pods for $39 (.29 cents per load)

By the facts that I only use cold water, I don’t need to do extra rinses because the pods break down well, & that it has a good brightener, & a stain remover in it also means more bang for your buck so to speak.

For the value, quality & quantity I’m giving this particular fragrance pod a solid 7.5/10. (Which is pretty high, I’m fussy with laundry products).
I like the Vetiver fragrance myself – it’s a little more calming, & has a more herbal scent to it, but as we know everyone reacts & responds differently to different smells.

If you want to check out these laundry pods, & some of the other great products Grab Green has, click the link below to get 50% off your first order when you sign up to the Grab Green community.
http://www.grabgreenhome.com/summer-savings

I’m going to have a coffee & put my super powers to good use as I do some cleaning with another new product that I will eventually review.

Have a great day being a perfectly imperfect adult, check out the Grab Green site from the confines of your fort if you have to, & follow my blog for more reviews…

As always be kind to the world around you, & the people in it.

Angela

Leave a Reply

